Please upgrade your browser. This site requires a newer version to work correctly. Read more

Board of Directors

The USGBC board of directors articulates and upholds the vision, values and mission of USGBC. Directors meet in person three times each year and by teleconference regularly throughout the year.

Meeting minutes


You can review past actions of the board by reading the board of directors minutes. If you would like to learn more about or contact the USGBC Board of Directors, email

Board composition

As described in the USGBC Bylaws, the board is composed of the CEO, officers elected by the board (chair, chair-elect, immediate past chair, treasurer and secretary) and directors representing different perspectives related to the green building industry. The board of directors is composed of 15 elected directors representing perspectives agreed on by the board, five appointed directors, officers whose terms as directors have otherwise expired and the CEO, who shall serve ex-officio as a non-voting member.

Board terms

Board of directors elections occur annually. Elected directors serve 3-year terms and may serve up to two terms. Appointed directors serve 2-year terms and may serve up to two terms consecutively. Of the officers, the chair, chair-elect and immediate past chair each serve 1-year terms that total 3 years of leadership. The treasurer and secretary serve 2-year terms.

Executive Committee

Officer Seat Affiliation Term Ends Location
Marge Anderson Marge Anderson Chair Seventhwave 2016 Madison, WI
Fiona Cousins Fiona Cousins Chair-Elect Arup 2017 New York, NY
George Bandy George Bandy Immediate Past Chair Interface 2015 Acworth, GA
Stuart Carron Stuart Carron Treasurer; Facility Management & Operations ENERGIZE RE LLC 2015; 2015 Shorewood, WI
Lisa Matthiessen Lisa Matthiessen Sustainable Practice Leader: Architecture and Design Integral Group 2017; 2016 Los Angeles, CA
S. Rick Fedrizzi S. Richard Fedrizzi * CEO & Founding Chairman U.S. Green Building Council N/A Washington, DC


Director Seat Affiliation Term Ends Location
Jeff Baer Jeff Baer** Real Estate Finance and Capital Markets Deutsche Bank 2015 New York, NY
Dan BurgoyneDan Burgoyne State and Local Government Agency Employee State of California 2016 Sacramento, CA
Stephen Bushnell Stephen Bushnell Insurance Fireman's Fund Insurance Company 2017 Novato, CA
Linda Chipperfield Linda Chipperfield Environmental Nonprofit Advocate Green Seal, Inc. 2017 Washington, D.C.
Amy Costello Amy Costello Product Manufacturer Armstrong World Industries 2017 Lancaster, PA
Duygu Erten Duygu Erten International TURKECO Construction and Energy Inc. 2016 Istanbul, Turkey
Denise Grabowski Denise Grabowski Urban/Regional Planner Symbioscity 2017 Savannah, GA
Davor Grgic Davor Grgic** Business to Consumer Leader Kohler Co. 2015 Kohler, WI
Mark JamesMark James ** Sustainable Community Leader Urban Green, LLC 2016 Washington, DC
Sara O'Mara Sara O'Mara Constructor of Buildings Choate Construction Company 2016 Charlotte, NC
Kenneth PottsKenneth Potts Developer/Real Estate Services Design Stream 2015 Los Angeles, CA
John Quale John Quale Educators (Post-Secondary) University of New Mexico School of Architecture + Planning 2015 AlbuquerqueNM
Gerrit Reinders Gerrit Reinders** Technology Telkonet, Inc. 2015 Milwaukee, WI
Kevin Stack Kevin Stack Residential Construction Northeast Natural Homes 2016 Syracuse, NY
Christopher Schaffner Christopher Schaffner Sustainable Practice Leader: Engineer The Green Engineer, LLP 2017 Concord, MA
Vance Voss Vance Voss** Commercial Real Estate Executive Leader Principal Real Estate Investors 2016 Des Moines, IA

* denotes a non-voting member of the Board and a voting member of the Executive Committee
** denotes a member of the Board representing a special perspective and filling an appointed seat

Related resources