Can I retake the exam if I fail? | U.S. Green Building Council
Please upgrade your browser. This site requires a newer version to work correctly. Read more

Can I retake the exam if I fail?


Candidates are allotted three registrations per exam per year. This means that you have three chances to meet the minimum competency score of 170 for any given LEED Professional Exam within a year of the application.

For the LEED Green Associate credential, this translates into three attempts at the exam during the one-year application period.

For the LEED AP credential, you are allowed three attempts per section during your one-year application period. Both sections are delivered concurrently unless you previously passed one of the sections during the current application period. In this case, you will only be tested on the section you have not passed. Once you have passed a section of a LEED AP exam, that section will no longer be available to you during your application period. Candidates must pass both sections of a LEED AP exam to earn the credential.

Can't find what you're looking for?

Ask a question

Have a question or comment?


(within U.S.)


(outside U.S.)

M-F 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM EST


U.S. Green Building Council
P.O. Box 404296
Atlanta, GA 30384-4296


2101 L Street, NW
Suite 500
Washington DC 20037