USGBC members: Vote for the USGBC Board of Directors slate for 2019 from June 17-July 16. Learn more and vote

Melanie Share
2 minute read

See questions and answers from the LEED v4.1 Ask the Experts sessions.

The recording of the Feb. 13 LEED v4.1 "Ask the Experts" sessions are available now, along with several additional resources. The sessions connect you directly with USGBC subject experts. Our first session drew participants from 37 different countries, asking thoughtful questions about LEED v4.1.

We couldn’t get to all the great questions in just one hour—so we’ve shared additional answers, along with links to resources, alongside the recordings. View the recordings.

Here are some of the most common questions:

Does this version include improvements based on feedback received from reviewers and project teams? If so, to what extent?

Yes, LEED v4.1 development did include feedback from reviewers and project teams. In March 2018, USGBC put out a call for ideas on how to improve the technical language of LEED, including the newest rating system, LEED v4.1. More than 250 proposals were submitted, providing valuable feedback that will continue to shape the future of the rating system. Once received, the proposals were sent to the relevant LEED committees and Technical Advisory Groups for consideration and recommendations. USGBC has published official responses to proposals submitted between March and May 2018.

How has the integrative process been updated in LEED v4.1?

The Integrative Process credit has a more balanced approach for project teams to understand, improve and document both the process and outcomes of integrated design through a new documentation approach of a project team letter. Project teams have greater flexibility to tell the story of their integrative process and earn more points for exemplary performance for new areas of interdisciplinary analysis at the frontier of green building, including social equity and public health. Projects can also demonstrate their thoughtful site selection decisions.

How does recertification of LEED v2 and LEED 2009 projects work in conjunction with LEED v4.1?

Recertification is an important action that is now available to all occupied and in-use projects that have previously achieved certification under LEED—including Building Design and Construction (BD+C) and Interior Design and Construction (ID+C)—regardless of their initial rating system or version. See the Recertification Guidance document for more information.

Have more questions? Register for our future Ask the Experts sessions:

LEED v4.1 O+M

  • February 27 [8 a.m. EST; 5 p.m. DST; 6:30 p.m. IST; 9 p.m. CST]
  • February 27 [1 p.m. EST; 7 p.m. CET; 3 p.m. BRST]

LEED v4.1 BD+C and ID+C

  • March 6 [8 a.m. EST; 5 p.m. DST; 6:30 p.m. IST; 9 p.m. CST]
  • March 6 [1 p.m. EST; 7 p.m. CET; 3 p.m. BRST]

View the Feb. 13 recordings