MaryEllen Etienne
2 minute read

The DesignColumbus event is co-sponsored by USGBC Ohio.

Each year, the Construction Specifications Institute (CSI) national organization invites nominations for the J. Norman Hunter Award for Innovative Allied Organizational Cooperation. The award goes to a CSI member, chapter, region or group who brings multiple construction organizations together for a single goal or event. The 2019 winner is the DesignColumbus committee, which organizes the DesignColumbus conference and expo traditionally held at COSI every spring.

DesignColumbus has been co-sponsored by the CSI Columbus Chapter and USGBC Ohio for nine years. The show, as we know it today, originated from events hosted by the CSI Columbus Chapter since the 1950s, and the DesignColumbus committee adheres to the CSI chapter’s original intent of programming that cannot be duplicated in office “lunch-and-learns.”

The conference and expo offers a full day of continuing education and informational displays. It attracts hundreds of building industry professionals, including architects, interior designers, engineers, owners, developers, government officials, municipal planners, facility managers, contractors, construction managers, construction specifiers, manufacturers and product representatives.

Each year, the committee reviews and selects case studies, panel discussions and learning tracks that provide a range of knowledge for show attendees. The committee also works with presenters to make sure that education sessions offer AIA and GBCI continuing education credits. Starting in 2019, it will also offer IDCEC credits.


Committee representatives Adam Olson, of Olson Architectural Products, Inc., and Dave Petersen, of CSI, will be recognized during the national CSI Construct AEC Education and Expo, to be held Oct. 9–11 at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center at the National Harbor, Maryland.

Current committee members are:

  • Jim McDonald, co-chair
  • Tammie Wareham, co-chair
  • Justin Adams
  • Lacey Adams
  • DuWayne Baird
  • Dan Barringer
  • Lori Dahm
  • Kristin Dispenza
  • Cambris Epperson
  • Pam Girard
  • Thad Goodman
  • Tara Grove
  • Eric Lipschutz
  • Penny Mavrikis
  • Adam Olson
  • David Petersen
  • Eric Porr
  • Kyle Schneider
  • Laurel Sheppard
  • Jerry Smith
  • Brenda Tepper

See more upcoming USGBC Ohio events