USGBC members: Vote for the USGBC Board of Directors slate for 2019 from June 17-July 16. Learn more and vote

Melanie Share
2 minute read

Join one of our "Ask the Experts" sessions in February or March.

Registration is now open for LEED v4.1 Building Design and Construction (BD+C), Interior Design and Construction (ID+C) and Operations and Maintenance (O+M) beta projects, along with a number of resources including beta guides, rating systems and educational videos, to support you as you get familiar with all of the updates.

To help answer your questions, we’re also hosting a series of live, online "Ask the Experts" sessions, where you will be able to connect directly with USGBC and GBCI subject experts and ask questions.

All LEED v4.1 rating systems

February 13 [8 a.m. EST (Washington, D.C.); 5 p.m. DST (Dubai); 6:30 p.m. IST (New Delhi); 9 p.m. CST (Beijing)]

February 13 [1 p.m. EST (Washington, D.C); 7 p.m. CET (Central Europe); 3 p.m. BRST (São Paulo)]

LEED v4.1 O+M

February 27 [8 a.m. EST (Washington, D.C.); 5 p.m. DST (Dubai); 6:30 p.m. IST (New Delhi); 9 p.m. CST (Beijing)]

February 27 [1 p.m. EST (Washington, D.C); 7 p.m. CET (Central Europe); 3 p.m. BRST (São Paulo)]

LEED v4.1 BD+C and ID+C

March 6 [8 a.m. EST (Washington, D.C.); 5 p.m. DST (Dubai); 6:30 p.m. IST (New Delhi); 9 p.m. CST (Beijing)]

March 6 [1 p.m. EST (Washington, D.C); 7 p.m. CET (Central Europe); 3 p.m. BRST (São Paulo)]

You may ask questions live during the session, or submit them in advance. As a sneak peak, here are two of the questions we’ve already received.

"What are the major changes in LEED v4.1?"

  • For Existing Buildings: We’ve introduced performance-based prerequisites for Location and Transportation, Materials and Resources, and Indoor Environmental Quality (in addition to the performance prerequisites that were already in Water Efficiency and Energy and Atmosphere). Points earned from these five performance-based prerequisites account for 90 of the points a project can earn. For the first time, we also offer a rating system for existing interior spaces.

  • For Design and Construction: Highlights include an upgrade to ASHRAE 90.1-2016 and new energy metrics that include both cost and greenhouse gas emissions. Notably, we’ve restructured Materials and Resources credits that include options acknowledging efforts at varying levels, bridging the gap from where the market is currently to the goals identified in LEED v4 and carried into LEED v4.1.

  • For Interior Design and Construction: LEED v4.1 ID+C includes many of the updates made in LEED v4.1 BD+C, as well as several that focus on the realities of interior spaces. A new option within the Environmental Tobacco Smoke Control prerequisite acknowledges potential limitations with addressing smoking in areas outside of the interior project’s control—smoking is still prohibited in the entire LEED project space.

  • To learn more, read the summary of changes at the beginning of each of the LEED v4.1 Beta Guides. This section walks through the changes at the credit level. For LEED v4.1 O+M, there’s also an illustration showing how the credits map from LEED v4 to LEED v4.1.

"Is there a limit to the number of LEED v4.1 credits I can use on my LEED v4 project?"

There is no limit. LEED v4 project teams can use as many LEED 4.1 credits and prerequisites as they would like. Credits must be substituted in full, and special implementation guidance is available for select credits.

Have more questions? Register for one or more of the events above. Each live sessions is approved for 1 GBCI CE hour.

Learn more about LEED v4.1