Nancy Church

USGBC Kentucky recognized leaders in green building at its annual meeting and awards ceremony.

It was a challenge to narrow the list of exemplary volunteers and firms for our annual meeting and member awards ceremony in late May. However, USGBC Kentucky is proud to recognize leaders, legislators and an outstanding educator and to celebrate many successes in green buildings and green schools across Kentucky. 

More than 100 members and guests joined the USGBC Kentucky board for an inaugural event that showcased market transformation through Green Apple Day projects; advocacy work at local, state and national levels; partnerships with professional and nonprofit organizations; and the introduction of a suite of new sustainability certifications such as WELLSITESPEERGRESB, as well as the LEED Dynamic Plaque. To enjoy a photo essay of the event, visit our Facebook photo album.

Special Award

  • Tresine Logsdon, Energy and Sustainability Curriculum Coordinator, Fayette County Public Schools, and recipient of USGBC Best of Schools 2016 award for School System. Tresine made an impassioned speech about learning from students; engaging with school systems and administrators; and the need for more, better and deeper environmental education at every level, K–12. Read more.

Individual Awards

Organizational Awards

Keynote Speakers

Kentucky State Representatives Mary Lou Marzian and Jim DeCesare, bipartisan co-chairs of the Kentucky Green Schools Caucus, shared how they've achieved common ground with green schools legislation. They admonished the crowd to recognize progress in both parties toward adoption and promotion of green building standards. Jim DeCesare is the 2014 recipient of the USGBC Leadership Award for Public Service.

We thank sponsor Lynn Imaging for the large banners and signs that signaled the successes and statistics that USGBC Kentucky has enjoyed in the years since inception and that lay the foundation for transformative growth in years to come.

Special thanks to the organizing committee: Amanda Schoonover, Chair, and Rachel Harman, Cassie Nichols, Tama Wagner and Chris Zerhusen.