The LEED Fellow designates the most exceptional professionals in the green building industry, and it is the most prestigious designation awarded by the Green Building Certification Institute (GBCI). Meet the LEED Fellows.

The LEED Fellow Program was established to recognize outstanding LEED APs who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in key mastery elements related to:

  • technical knowledge and skill
  • a history of exemplary leadership in green building
  • significant contributions in teaching, mentoring, or research with proven outcomes
  • a history of highly impactful commitment, service, and advocacy for green building and sustainability

The program was developed to honor and recognize LEED APs who have made a significant contribution to green building and sustainability at a regional, national or global level.


The criteria for assessing LEED Fellow nominees are based on five major dimensions of green building and sustainability that have been identified as mastery elements. The application process allows nominees to demonstrate that they have made exceptional and quantifiable contributions to the world of green building using their skills and abilities in four of the five mastery elements. One of the elements must be Technical Proficiency, and the nominee may choose the other three elements from Education and Mentoring, Leadership, Commitment and Service, and Advocacy.

  1. Technical Proficiency: A LEED Fellow demonstrates expert-level technical proficiency. He or she is experienced and knowledgeable in the application of multiple LEED rating systems and has provided significant contributions to LEED projects. A LEED Fellow is adept at identifying technical or procedural solutions to green building challenges and has demonstrated a sustained level of accomplishment for at least ten years.
  2. Education and Mentoring: A LEED Fellow provides education, training and mentoring—sharing knowledge about LEED, sustainability and green building with others, both inside and outside of his or her own organization. The Fellow demonstrates this through measurable outcomes.
  3. Leadership: A LEED Fellow is a leader in his or her own organization and in the field of green building. He or she plays an important role in instituting and applying sustainability practices and procedures within his or her own organization as well as within clients’ projects and the community, and can demonstrate the impact of this leadership.
  4. Commitment and Service: A LEED Fellow demonstrates a history of commitment and service to green building. This can include contribution and service to GBCI and USGBC or other Green Building Councils, as well as community service that have furthered green building or sustainability.
  5. Advocacy: A LEED Fellow is a longstanding advocate for sustainable ideas, concepts and technologies related to or promoting green building or sustainability. He or she delivers presentations and speeches and writes articles or books explaining green building and sustainability. A LEED Fellow also proactively encourages the adoption and use of LEED rating systems with clients, communities or government entities.


To be nominated as a LEED Fellow, nominees must have:

  • Held a LEED Professional credential for eight or more years
  • A LEED AP with Specialty credential in good standing
  • Ten years of professional green building experience
  • Agreed to be nominated

To nominate a LEED Fellow, nominators must have:

  • A LEED AP with Specialty credential in good standing
  • Ten years of professional green building experience
  • Nominated no one else for the current LEED Fellow class
  • Not been nominated for the current LEED Fellow class
  • Agreed to be a nominator

Learn more

The LEED Fellow Handbook contains detailed information on the nomination process. Questions? Contact the LEED Fellow hotline at 202-742-3272.