Selina Holmes
2 minute read

Project teams can now register for LEED v4.1 BD+C and ID+C.

The USGBC community is stepping up with initiatives to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, expanding activities that impact human health and well-being and devising effective solutions to life-threatening challenges around the U.S. and the globe. LEED v4.1 is our chance to lead the market on all of these fronts.

Focused on implementation, LEED v4.1 is designed to be an accessible, user-friendly and agile tool to address the most pressing issues of today and tomorrow.

In addition to the LEED v4.1 Operations and Maintenance (O+M) beta that opened in March 2018, project teams can now also register for LEED v4.1 Building Design and Construction (BD+C) and LEED Interior Design and Construction (ID+C). To participate:

LEED is backed by an award-winning support team of subject matter experts. We are available to answer any questions, take feedback and provide solutions. Contact us via email.  

Credit substitutions

Project teams currently pursuing LEED v4 have the opportunity to apply the requirements of LEED v4.1 credits and prerequisites in place of the LEED v4 language. This provides an opportunity to interact with LEED v4.1 in advance of applying it to a full project—testing out the new options for credits such as:

  • Water Efficiency credit Cooling Tower Water Use
  • Location and Transportation credit Reduced Parking Footprint
  • Sustainable Sites credit Rainwater Management (BD+C)
  • Environmental Quality prerequisite Environmental Tobacco Smoke Control (ID+C)

Credit substitutions are documented within LEED Online.

Education

Learn more about LEED v4.1 and ask questions during our live LEED v4.1 "Ask the Expert" sessions. These interactive online events provide you with a direct link to LEED subject matter experts who are available to answer questions and provide support.

To get the most out to these meetings, prepare by watching the overview and credit category videos and reading the rating system drafts.

All live sessions are eligible for 1 LEED-specific CE hour toward GBCI credential maintenance.

All LEED v4.1 rating systems

February 13, 2019

Select the session that best fits your time zone.

Session 1

Time zones:

  • 8 a.m. EST (Washington, D.C.)
  • 5 p.m. DST (Dubai)
  • 6:30 p.m. IST (New Delhi)
  • 9 p.m. CST (Beijing) 

Session 2

Time zones:

  • 1 p.m. EST (Washington, D.C)
  • 7 p.m. CET (Central Europe)
  • 3 p.m. BRST (São Paulo)

LEED v4.1 O+M

February 27, 2019

Select the session that best fits your time zone.

Session 1

Time zones:

  • 8 a.m. EST (Washington, D.C.)
  • 5 p.m. DST (Dubai)
  • 6:30 p.m. IST (New Delhi)
  • 9 p.m. CST (Beijing) 

Session 2

Time zones:

  • 1 p.m. EST (Washington, D.C)
  • 7 p.m. CET (Central Europe)
  • 3 p.m. BRST (São Paulo)

LEED v4.1 BD+C and ID+C

March 6, 2019 

Select the session that best fits your time zone.

Session 1

Time zones:

  • 8 a.m. EST (Washington, D.C.)
  • 5 p.m. DST (Dubai)
  • 6:30 p.m. IST (New Delhi)
  • 9 p.m. CST (Beijing) 

Session 2

Time zones:

  • 1 p.m. EST (Washington, D.C)
  • 7 p.m. CET (Central Europe)
  • 3 p.m. BRST (São Paulo)

Call for proposals

In total, over 250 proposals were submitted in response  to the call for ideas, opened on March 26, 2018, on how to improve the technical language of LEED, including the newest rating system—LEED v4.1—and beyond. Proposal responses have been drafted and reviewed and are available now in the 2018 Call for Proposals Report.

Learn more about LEED v4.1