USGBC LEED Committees | U.S. Green Building Council
Please upgrade your browser. This site requires a newer version to work correctly. Read more
Published on
Posted in LEED
Published on
Posted in LEED

Updated October 2017.

LEED committees help develop, implement and revise the LEED rating systems, ensuring they remain rigorous and market-relevant. 

The LEED Committee structure includes the LEED Steering Committee (LSC) and Regional LEED Steering Committees, three subcommittees of the LSC, six Technical Advisory Groups (TAGs) organized around credit category expertise and six Regional LEED Steering Committees.

LEED Steering Committee

A standing committee of the USGBC board of directors, LSC serves as the governing body of all LEED committees. LSC is charged with 

  • Developing and maintaining LEED as a leadership tool.
  • Preserving the integrity of the LEED rating systems.
  • Ensuring the use of the consensus process to evolve LEED in accordance with USGBC’s mission, guiding principles and strategic plan.

LSC’s role and responsibilities are detailed in the committee’s charter and the Foundations of LEED document. View its members and meeting minutes.

Regional LEED Steering Committees

As standing committees of the USGBC Board of Directors, Regional LEED Steering Committees are integrated groups of volunteers charged with prioritizing and overseeing LEED technical development activities in their respective global regions. Regional LEED Steering Committees are charged with

  • Developing and recommending regional technical solutions and guidance to the LEED Steering Committee to advance the implementation of LEED and its application as a sustainable market transformation tool.
  • Collaborating with other RLSCs and informal working groups to address priority issues at the regional or global scale.
  • Ensuring information about LEED development and implementation is readily available within regional markets.

The role and responsibilities are detailed in the committee charters in the Foundations of LEED document. Regions include:

  • Latin America and the Caribbean
  • Europe
  • Middle East
  • Africa
  • Greater China
  • Asia Pacific
  • LEED Advisory Committee

    The LEED Advisory Committee advises staff and LSC on market and implementation-related issues. It provides expert feedback and insight on how LEED and related tools, resources and programs affect the user experience and market uptake of LEED in maintaining LEED’s global leadership and satisfying customer engagement.

    The role and responsibilities of the LEED Advisory Committee, which is a committee of LSC, are detailed in the committee’s purpose statement. View its members and meeting minutes. 

    LEED Pilot Credit Committee

    This committee administers the LEED Pilot Credit Library. Members are technical and subject matter experts who manage the evolution of pilot credit language based on feedback from project teams and other stakeholders.

    Formal pilot credit language changes are made and published on a monthly basis, as needed. Learn more about the committee, its members and its meeting minutes. 

    LEED Technical Committee

    The LEED Technical Committee oversees Technical Advisory Groups (TAGs) and other technical working groups and recommends solutions regarding technical issues to LSC. Its responsibilities include

    • Coordinating cross-category matters within LEED.
    • Reviewing LEED credits and prerequisites for technical validity and recommending improvements.
    • Assessing LEED’s technical rigor, coherence and achievement trends through a system of performance metrics.

    The committee’s role and responsibilities are detailed in its purpose statement. View its members and meeting minutes. 

    LEED Technical Advisory Groups

    Under the direct management of the LEED Technical Committee, TAGs recommend technical solutions to rating system development and maintenance issues.

    The groups are a source of technical advice to LEED committees and working groups regarding credit and prerequisite improvement and supporting tool development.

    TAGs are structured to include expertise for specific technical issues: location and planning, sustainable sites, water efficiency, energy and atmosphere, materials and resources and indoor environmental quality.

    The role and responsibilities of the Technical Advisory Groups are detailed in their purpose statement.

    LEED Working Groups

    Social Equity Working Group

    The Social Equity Working Group is a working group of LSC and was formed to explore ways to implement the third Guiding Principle in the USGBC 2013-2015 Strategic Plan, Foster Social Equity. 

    In 2016, the working group will improve the practical implementation of the three social equity pilot credits by

    • Developing supporting resources and materials for the credits and supporting the credit review process.
    • Identifying and proposing alternative compliance paths for international project teams.
    • Collating feedback from project teams in order to improve the credits. 

    View the working group's members and meeting minutes (zip file).

    How to Get Involved

    To be automatically notified of future LEED Committee and working group openings, sign up for the LEED Committee Volunteer Opportunities Mail List.

    To be appointed to a LEED committee or working group, a candidate must submit an online application during a Call for Volunteers period. USGBC typically opens Calls for Volunteers for LEED committees and working groups twice a year. Each Call for Volunteers is posted on the USGBC Volunteer Opportunities page and is open to qualified applicants employed by USGBC member organizations.

    The goal for each Call for Volunteers is to ensure that committee membership encompasses diverse areas of expertise and represents a variety of perspectives from the industries that make up the built environment. When USGBC opens a Call for Volunteers, each committee accepting applications seeks specific, targeted areas of expertise in new membership.

    After an application period closes, all applications are reviewed and qualified candidates are identified based on their technical expertise, training, and the needs of each committee. LEED committee volunteers and staff work together to review applications and build consensus in the selection of new members. Candidates whose applications garner the most support among committee members and staff are recommended to the LEED Steering Committee for review and approval.